Orange

Orange is the color of Team Marquez. We used to wear this black tri suit and for some reason, it changed to orange. But this is not about the color. This is about how happy I was to see a lot of people wearing the same shirt I was wearing on the race route last Sunday.

Pinoy Fitness Sub1 challenge happened last Sunday. Months back, someone from the team suggested that we join the race as a team run. We also agreed that the race will be a 10K time trial for the team. We all agreed and came up with a plan.

The plan was for those who are sure to finish in an hour to be in the 1st wave then those who are not so confident about doing a Sub1 to join the last wave. Faster runners were also asked to go back to the race route once they finished and pace those in the 3rd wave.

We had that at the back of our minds and we continued our training. We are a triathlon team so we swim we bike and we run during training. I think the only group training dedicated to running happens Wednesdays when we do our speed drills in the Mall of Asia.

So we registered (some didn’t some had a last minute registration) and then there we were on race day wearing our orange shirts. Coach instructed us to be in the venue 4:30 as he wanted us to do warm-up before the race. I came late hence I missed the warm-up so I just ran around the block and proceeded to the finish line.

Julie, Elaine, and Bob were standing near me at the starting line. The ladies were starting to doubt themselves. One was saying she’ll do her best while the other was saying she can’t do it. Then it was the start of the race.

I tried my best to push myself while observing my right knee as I had some issues with my knees hence I had it taped. I didn’t feel any pain so I continued running trying to increase my pace. On the lead pack was Coach Romy who was in 4th place when I saw him.

After the U-turn, my team mates. I saw Elaine and Bob then Julie. Then came McCoy, Lloyd, Edna, Wad, Franco, Fiel, Alprince, Raffy and Lear who were in wave 2. I saw Karen who came to support the team 2 kilometres away from the finish line. It felt great to see them pushing themselves wearing the same shirt I was wearing. Makes me proud of my team.

On the last stretch of the race route, I tried to increase my pace. I remember coach telling me to run faster at the final stretch so I did. I finished at around 50 minutes seeing Coach Romy and Flor cheering at the finish line. It was not my best time for a 10K but it was a great finish nonetheless.

After crossing the finish line I got my hydration and my medal and started walking back the race route. I caught a glimpse of Julie who finished Sub1. I saw Karen again and asked about Elaine. She told me that she saw her being pushed by Bob and that they finished before Julie. Went back to the route looking for the last runner wearing the team shirt and ran with him to the finish line.

It was a great race. Most of us finished within the Sub1 target. I am sure that those who didn’t make it broke their personal bests. Coach won 1st place in his wave. Everyone was happy with their finish times and agreed that the Wednesday speed drills helped. So happy and proud of my team!

About Kit Atienza

A researcher/runner/triathlete/cancer survivor who found himself in the world of development work. He enjoys, reflects, and rants about things while doing his job, improving his personal record in running distances, and training for the IronMan in 2016.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

