Off Season?

Today is the second day of December. Parties start to fill my calendar. It starts this weekend for me. Most people I know are talking about being off season from training on social media. It made me think – am I having a training break this holiday season?

My training log does not say so. My coach is also saying that we’re not having a break. We need to burn more as we are eating more this season – he reminded us on one of our Wednesday speed sessions.

Speaking of speed sessions, I had another speed session in the University of Makati Track Oval last Saturday evening. I was one of the lucky ones to try the new Nike Air Zoom Structure 19.

11216829_10153821110063487_5240716601211283145_nAs the brief says the Nike Air Zoom Structure 19 is a stability shoe loaded with dynamic support and Nike’s zoom air technology to help athletes speed through their lined-up races. This version of the shoe has thicker Flywire cables in the midfoot for enhanced lockdown, as well as additional yarn in the Flymesh upper for greater structural support without limiting breathability. “Comfortable support meets increased stability with the triple-density Dynamic Support system that supports the foot as it transitions through foot strike, providing stability when it is needed. The Zoom Structure 19 delivers increased stability with highly responsive cushioning with the Nike Zoom Air forefoot unit for a quick, crisp toe-off.”

That was a really technical description of a pair of shoes. This just show how much Nike studies the little details here and there in order to come up with a shoe that responds to the needs of an athlete to help them become faster and more comfortable. The level of detail was evident on the finished product.

The shoe was comfortable. The moment I wore it, I immediately felt the sock like hug of the Flymesh upper material. It hugs the forefoot without being restrictive more like a comfortable hug. The arch support was also really evident when I wore them. You will feel it right away.

It was a good workout companion doing speed drills around the oval. I did not feel any discomfort running with it considering that I am using the shoe for the first time. It feels like I’ve already worn them before. This shoe should be in your Christmas wish list! I am adding them in my list!

So is it off season? I don’t think so. It is a season to train harder and start the new year stronger, faster!

About Kit Atienza

A researcher/runner/triathlete/cancer survivor who found himself in the world of development work. He enjoys, reflects, and rants about things while doing his job, improving his personal record in running distances, and training for the IronMan in 2016.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

