Captain’s Love Note

Hi Team!

Congratulations Karen, Dianne, March, Lloyd, Emer and Loyce for finishing strong in TU4! Congratulations too Bob, Jave, Leo, Franco, Henry, and RJ for a strong performance in the Power Man the other week.

I woke up this morning with Lear’s voice chanting El-Oh-Beh-Eh Team Marquez repeating in my head. I still have a high from the weekend I guess and it is a good chant I must admit. If we have to put a line below the team’s name, it has to be L-O-V-E!

I saw LOVE this weekend when the support crew brought with them bike tools because they knew some of the newbies don’t have them. With how people checked the whereabouts of those who are still on their way. When we made sure that cab driver did not make a wrong move. With how we supported each other. When Bong and Lloyd saw Loyce’s bike and started talking about quick fixes to make his ride better (and he’s not even part of the team). When people started screaming and running after Dianne during the swim leg. When coach arrived during the event.

I still have a high from the weekend and it is already Tuesday! That high was reinforced when Robert (my trainer) while I was doing push ups and lifting weights asked about the team and asked if he could join as support in one of our future events. He volunteered to stretch those participating because he said he wanted to watch. I think we’ve made a good impression on someone (Loyce) and that impression was shared with others.

Every time we compete, we always look back and check where we failed and how we can still improve. This is true for both those competing and the support crew. As we are all working to be better athletes and support crews, it is always good to look back at our experience and ask questions like – what worked and what didn’t and look for ways to improve.

From what I gathered both from the Power Man and TU4, we need to really include tire changing as part of our training. I personally haven’t done that. I know the steps and had some hands-on but doing it and doing it fast, is a big question mark for me. Most of the TU4 participants being newbies lack the skill as well and like me chose to cross their fingers and pray that no flat tire happens. Given Bob’s power man experience we need to really do this as part of the training. I think this is more of a note to self here. 🙂

The men (Lloyd excluded) need more swim training. Good job ladies the Tuesday and Thursday evening swims really made a difference. As I wrote in my previous entry, I observed people taking their goggles off then putting them on and start swimming again. This has implications in terms of fit and also about getting used to wearing goggles and not getting the urge to take it off every time you stop in the water. I have to admit I used to do this myself but it time and maybe because open water swims do not allow you to do it, I got used to keeping my goggles on.

Another observation was on familiarizing with the route. Dianne almost gave me a heart attack when she started running to another direction. I know swimming in a pool can disorient you but it is always good to familiarize yourself with the race course.

Switching to beast mode during competition is also one thing we need to do. I noted people chatting having introductions during swim to bike transition. Transition time is part of the race time so the friendly face should be swept aside when you start the competition. Put it back when you cross the finish line.

This is already very long. I have to stop. Just a quick reminder, we have 3 months to prepare for TU1!

Love, love, love.

About Kit Atienza

A researcher/runner/triathlete/cancer survivor who found himself in the world of development work. He enjoys, reflects, and rants about things while doing his job, improving his personal record in running distances, and training for the IronMan in 2016.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

