Bulalo Ride

Bulalo is a light colored soup that’s made rich by cooking beef shanks and beef marrow bones for hours, until much of the collagen and fat has melted into the clear broth. This is how norecipes.com describes it. (http://norecipes.com/bulalo-recipe/#ixzz3XB2bBMW8)

Bulalo for me became synonymous to Tagaytay as we would always have bulalo for lunch everytime I am in Tagaytay with friends. This post is actually about my longest ride on my bicycle. But we went to Tagaytay and had Bulalo anyway hence the title.

Team mates would usually plan training on weekends. It can go from a simple run together followed by breakfast in the Mall of Asia to long rides in Golden Haven (this is still have to do) to open water swims in a beach in Batangas (haven’t done this as well). We were planning a long ride and someone suggested to ride up to Tagaytay. I think I suggested the Bulalo lunch hence we called it the Bulalo ride.

Before the ride, I checked my bike and I felt that my Felt AR15 won’t be my ride as I think it needs to be tuned as it is making sounds when I rode Tuesday. I took my Caad 8 for a ride Thursday to check and it went well so I decided that it will be my ride. I wanted to change my pedals as the felt had toe clips on (I am still not confident on using cleats) but I was not successful in changing pedals.

11148911_385324978337054_652704176_n11094285_385324991670386_903830200_n

I packed tools, and extra inner tubes as well as some energy bars and an extra bottle cage for the ride. The next day, there were 4 of us who started the ride at 5:30 in the Jetti gas station in MOA while 3 more would join us in Cavite. It was my longest ride so far and since the way to Tagaytay is going up, it was a slow, difficult one. We made several stops to refill hydration, to eat, as well as for others to catch up. I used the stops to re-apply sunblock as the sun was reallu smiling that day.  After more than 3 hours, we reached our destination!

11122059_385324971670388_1690442865_n 11117629_385325145003704_1775034631_n

The original plan was to go up the Palace in the sky but we were already tired and hungry so we went to Mahogany Market instead and had our Bulalo Lunch. I had extra rice for lunch and I really savored the Bulalo and Tawilis served to us.

11118566_385325115003707_1477928330_n

After lunch, we headed home. I reached home before 3PM. It was indeed a long ride and it was great that there were no flat tires and accidents that happened. Now I can proudly tell friends that – “I biked all the way to Tagaytay and back!”

Thanks Lear Lucrida for the photos.

 

About Kit Atienza

A researcher/runner/triathlete/cancer survivor who found himself in the world of development work. He enjoys, reflects, and rants about things while doing his job, improving his personal record in running distances, and training for the IronMan in 2016.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

