Tri United1

After my 1st Sprint distance, the next on my list of triathlons is the Tri United1 which is a standard distance triathlon. I knew that swimming is my weakness hence I did all the drills coach Romy asked us to do and really worked on my swim. I also felt like I could still go faster in the bike so I bought a time trial bike.

Almost everyone in the team was competing in TU1 so it was a fun weekend with the team and the support crew.

Team Marquez

It was my 1st 1.5K swim but not my 1st time in the swim course as it was held in the same venue as NAGT. The swim route was 1 loop so when the go signal was given, I just swam and swam looking for that bouy where we are supposed to turn. I felt like I was zigzagging the whole time. At one point I was stuck between two fast swimmers who started 15 minutes after we started swimming. I know I was a slow swimmer and was just so glad to see the shore and start running to the transition. Went out of the transition after 49 minutes and 38 seconds.

T1

Bike

I was also familiar with the bike course and it was a flat route so I was faster in the bike course. I had a new bike but I was not yet ready to wear cleats but then I felt like I did better this time. There were ticking sounds coming from my bike but I just shrugged it off and just pedalled on. The whole time, I was praying that I won’t get a flat tire because I still am not that confident of my tire changing skills. Good thing no flat tire happened. I stayed for an hour, 18 minutes and 24 seconds on the bike route.

Run

“Go Kit, this is your event!” I heard Joanne shouting at me at the start of the run route. I was walking at that time as I can feel cramps on my thighs. So I slowly ran and somehow started to pick-up speed. It was great to see a lot of people doing the 4 loops on the run route. I caught up and cheed team mates and had some chips and fruits in the U turn of the route. It made the run more bearable. It took me 59 minutes and 10 seconds to complete the 10 kilometer run.

finished!

The sprint to the finish line was really sweet. It took me 3 hours, 7 minutes, and 12 seconds to complete my 1st standard distance triathlon.

About Kit Atienza

A researcher/runner/triathlete/cancer survivor who found himself in the world of development work. He enjoys, reflects, and rants about things while doing his job, improving his personal record in running distances, and training for the IronMan in 2016.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

