Pacer not Racer

Pacer

I missed the registration for Run United 1 this year and since it happened after Tri United1, while I really wanted to do it, I was somehow ok with it thinking it was a good thing. Then Bards asked if I was interested in pacing RU1 runners. Of course I said yes! So I got myself into the pacers list and chose an easy pace.

After TU1, I calculated my target pace for RU1 with the 2:11 goal which is around 6.24 minutes/kilometer. But of course my Garmin for reasons I call laziness shows kilometers/hour so I also computed it hence around 9.6kph will be my ideal speed. My post TU1 morning runs were deliberately slow.

When race day came, I was excited to be a pacer. It wasn’t my first time as I have paced friends who were doing marathons but then it was a different experience as I was an official pacer this time.

Our lead pacer was the Bull Runner herself. So we had a quick chat about how we will be doing it then we started running. It was a very comfortable pace and we only walked in the water stations to hydrate. A good number of runners joined our pace group which made it more fun.

Our pace increased a bit but it still was a comfortable one. The runners were able to maintain it. I thought some were even stronger so I encouraged some to run faster and overtake us. It was an easy and fun pace and running with a group makes you forget the distance so before we knew it, we were back in the Mall of Asia looking at the finish line.

I am so looking forward to doing it again in a faster pace in RU2!

pacersTM represent

About Kit Atienza

A researcher/runner/triathlete/cancer survivor who found himself in the world of development work. He enjoys, reflects, and rants about things while doing his job, improving his personal record in running distances, and training for the IronMan in 2016.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

