TRIng It

One of the things in my bucketlist is to finish an IronMan. This comes after I qualify for the Milo Marathon National Finals which I ticked off my list last 2013. So in 2014, I started swimming and found new friends in the pool while training and we now call ourselves Team Marquez (TM).

TM

I was TM support crew in the Tri United 2 and was also there in Cebu for the IronMan last year (though it was no wehere near the race course during race day and was happily eating the whole time). But my training continued. I was hoping to be in the Milo finals again last year but I failed so I went home from Tagbilaran giving up the goal of qualifying for the finals.

I was sad. So sad that I need to be consoled. My team mates who were very supportive went with me to Cartimar the weekend after I got back from Cebu and I went home with a new bicycle. So there I had no excuse. I can now join a Triathlon. Hence some cycling was added to the swimming and the running.

My Bike

Me, My Bike, and Jason

I wasn’t successful in registering for the 2015 IronMan hence on the eve of my birthday last November 2014, I registered to the Tri United series. But before that I joined the TM Relay team for the Ilocos Heritage Triathlon. I chose to do the running as I wanted to experience running in midday.

TM in Ilocos

So there before the year ended I felt I was ready to do the Triathlon. Before the fireworks that ended 2014, I was already registered to 4 triathlons for the year!

January started with the National Age Group Triathlon Subic Leg. I did the sprint distance as it was my 1st time. There were 5 of us from the team competing but I was the only one doing the Sprint distance. I finished after 29 minutes 27 seconds of swimming, 44 minutes and 42 seconds cycling and 27 minutes and 22 seconds running!

NAGT

After that race, I changed my daily mile profile to “TRIATHLETE.” It was a fun experience and I have learned a lot from it. I knew I need to work on my swimming and I also know that my cycling can still be improved. I also had my tri suit modified as I was schaffed.

At first it seemed scary seeing my name on the start list but after doing it, it makes you realize that hey, this is doable, it was my 1st race and I know that was one down and there were 3 more for the year.

NAGT

That was my first TRI.

About Kit Atienza

A researcher/runner/triathlete/cancer survivor who found himself in the world of development work. He enjoys, reflects, and rants about things while doing his job, improving his personal record in running distances, and training for the IronMan in 2016.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

