4 Weeks

Four weeks of training done, another Four to go before my 21K run. My target finish time is 1 hour and 35 minutes and the training becomes more and more demanding each week. More demanding training equate to longer sleeping hours and longer sleeping hours mean I have to sleep early.

This week I have dinner and drinks scheduled with friends and it will be difficult for me to go there and stay for just an hour then head home! This is a challenge but with the race registration complete, the ticket bought, and the hotel reserved, there is no turning back now. There is also that thought that you don’t go though all these without achieving your goal.

Last week, because I have been running uphill and down hill in the morning and swimming most of the day, there was a poing when it was really difficult to run. So I did not force it. I just ran then walk and then run again when I can. My calves really hurt at that point so I think there was no point pushing for a 5K so I declared a break. It paid off as I was able to do the required distance the following day.

Tomorrow, I need to do the following: 5K @25 minutes, 3K @14:30, 2K @9 minutes, and 1K @4:30! Just the thought of doing it makes me tired. I feel like I won’t be able to do it. 5K looks easy though as I average 29 minutes for a 5K in my easy runs but if you do a fast 3K, 2K, and 1K after that, it just feels impossible!

Well, I will try and make impossible happen tomorrow then.

About Kit Atienza

A researcher/runner/triathlete/cancer survivor who found himself in the world of development work. He enjoys, reflects, and rants about things while doing his job, improving his personal record in running distances, and training for the IronMan in 2016.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment