4AM Battle

I know its already 4AM when thoughts of staying longer in bed enter my head.

“You’re tired!”
“You can run this afternoon!”
“You can sleep a little longer.”
“You are only human, you need a break.”
“You’ve been running since Monday, you can skip today.”

All those thoughts enter my head as I try to sleep a little longer (my alam is set at 4:15). I either give up and start dressing up for my morning run or just close my eyes until my alarm goes off. These quitting thoughts or the battle between my bed and the road continue until I slip on my running shoes. My shoes have magical powers that make these thoughs go away. When I am already on my running shoes, it means I have to go out and do my morning run.

These are the battles in my head every morning since last week when I started my 8-week 21K training program. My program has only one day off so when I started, I made sure that I am in bed by 10PM so that I get at least 6 hours of sleep before my morning run. When I start my run, I go on until I finish the assigned distance or drills. These thought start again when I feel tired.

“This is an easy run, you’re allowed to walk.”
“Water break!”
“This is already my 6th loop, surely I can do 1 loop walking.”

But then I just go on thinking that I need to finish so that I could catch another 30 minutes in bed when I get home after the run. I usually finish in the park near my place and would still walk around the park after stretching before walking home making my distance covered for the day longer.

This morning, I realised that I may have had the workouts and the mileage for the Milo Marathon Manila eliminations but I think I failed to train for the mental aspect of the run. I failed to push til I finish without entertaining those quitting thoughts. I do perform the drills and workout but whenever there is a opportunity to take a little break, to skip training, I would usually opt for it. I wasn’t 100% with my training. This time, I know I am.

So tomorrow before my alarm goes off, I will once again be fighting this battle. This time, I am sure that my bed would not win it!

running_quote

About Kit Atienza

A researcher/runner/triathlete/cancer survivor who found himself in the world of development work. He enjoys, reflects, and rants about things while doing his job, improving his personal record in running distances, and training for the IronMan in 2016.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 4AM Battle

  1. How do you stay awake at work after that? lol

Leave a Reply

