2013 in Running

Happy New Year!

Its been a while since I found time to sit and write something. Since it is now 2014, I think I would just look back at 2013 through my running photos.

I started 2013 with the Fat Ass run. I did 12 hours and completed covered 30 something Ks while partying with friends. As the photo shows I gained a lot of weight during the holidays. The holiday weight gain is even more evident in the 7Eleven Run 800 21K photo.

Fat Ass 2013Run 800

Weight gain, very little training, I paced a friend in the Condura Skyway Marathon in February. Took me 8 hours to finish walking the route 😀

Skyway Marathon 2013

I was cheering for/pacing friends doing their first marathon in Bull Runner Dream Marathon in March. I then started regular runs and workouts hence a I was a little lighter when I ran in the Run United 21K. It was back to support duties for me after that when a friend ran the Bataan Death March 102 untramarathon.

The Bull Runner Dream MarathonRU1

Zombies didn’t beat me in the Outbreak Manila run in April. Then there was this random guy asking to have a “photo with the famous runner” after the race. Then the very warm Safeguard Sole Racing 21K. April was also the start of my 15-week training for the Milo Marathon Manila Eliminations.

Outbreak ManilaPictureSole Racing 1

In May, I was busy with the runs in my marathon training program.

MiloFriends

June started with the Run United 32K race. It ended with a 30K trail run on a stormy morning in Nuvali where I finished 4th (a few seconds slower than the 3rd placer!)

RU24th Placer

July was the Milo Marathon Manila eliminations. I signed up for races as part of my training. I got the biggest scare as I felt pain in my left thigh weeks before the marathon and had to run taped in the Adidas King of the Road 16K. Good thing it was gone when I joined the Takbo.ph 21K run the following week.

KOTRRunfest

Then came the Milo Marathon where I was able to get a PR and qualify for the national finals!

Milo Manila EliminationsMiloimage

I ran the Safeguard Sole Racing 21K in August with my Hang Out Bokals but I stayed away from the roads most of the time.

Sole Racing2

I started training for the Milo Finals in September but I was mostly busy having dinners with frieds in my new place.

Yoga2New Place

October started with the Run United Philippine marathon. Part of my training was done in Melbourne as I was enrolled in a week-long course in Melbourne Uni.

12K away from the finishline

12K away from the finishline

November, I did 21K in the 3rd Leg of the Sole Racing, Milo Apex Race Simulation (finished 3rd) and a 25K in the New Balance Power Race.

NB Power Run3rd Place

December, I finally made it to the Milo Marathon Finals!

Milo FinalsFinish Line!Cheers!

2013 was fun and I think in terms of running, I want to perform better this year. Yes I am back to my old overweight self after the holidays. I am now starting to lose them and will be slimmer in no time. Cheers!

About Kit Atienza

A researcher/runner/triathlete/cancer survivor who found himself in the world of development work. He enjoys, reflects, and rants about things while doing his job, improving his personal record in running distances, and training for the IronMan in 2016.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2013 in Running

  1. sarahdudek80 says:

    What an awesome year!

Leave a Reply

