Maria Michelle, King of the Road

ImageWhen you talk about a race that charges a lot for a registration fee, you would of course expect a lot from organizers. Adidas King of the Road is one of those races. Well it carries a popular brand so it has to be good right? WRONG!

I have been joining the Adidas King of the Road since 2010. All KOTRs I joined were well managed except this year. This year’s KOTR was a disappointment.

Lets start with registration. I registered early and was given no claim stub for the race kit. I was asked to fill-in another registration form to present during race kit claiming. I was told that the singlet colors are first come first served but the sizes of the singlets were in the registration forms.

Come race kit claiming, I had to line up for more than an hour and when it was my turn I was informed that they no longer have my size and that there is no guarantee for me to get a smaller sized singlet as the ones they have a big. Hence jokes about adidaster went out in social media. I posted on my wall and convinced friends not to wear adidas or wear Nike instead on race day.

I wore Nike during the race day. From head to foot, you can see the swoosh all over me. The race itself is well organized. It was a good run I must admit. I just felt bad that people were still wearing the adidaster on race day. Oversized singlets are all over the race route and people seemed fine with it.

So yeah the race itself was a good experience. The race photos were beautiful! I just loved the photos! Thanks to Photo-Ops for that. Then came the on-line results. I have been excited to see my results (more because of the photos) and I got a big surprise when I saw my results.

The results made me know new things I never knew before. I was surprised to know that my name is Maria Michelle and that I am a female! Wow! What a surprise! So this is Michelle ranting about the King of the Road. I hope registration is improved next time. Good thing they have good photos.  Image

 

About Kit Atienza

A researcher/runner/triathlete/cancer survivor who found himself in the world of development work. He enjoys, reflects, and rants about things while doing his job, improving his personal record in running distances, and training for the IronMan in 2016.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

