Munch Munch Munch

I have been munching all day. Munch and gulp, munch and gulp actually. Munching on something and drinking coffee all day. This is when I say thank heavens for meetings because during meetings, I stop munching. Yes I do sip coffee every so often but coffee is better than bicuits or something.

This week is a challenge for me. After being real good with my food intake and with the amount of exercise I do the past few weeks, I seem to have slowed down this week. I guess it started when I did not reach my time goal for my long run last Saturday. Something about it somehow triggered the lazy button somewhere in my body.

Rest is an important part of training so that was what I did Sunday. I also did a lot of eating because we went to a fiesta then had dinner with a friend who came from PNG who missed Filipino food. So it started with that. Monday I was good but Tuesday, had dinner again with friends! I was actually thinking of doing my hill repeats but Monday’s workout made my legs hurt! I tried to be good today but here I am munching on some bread courtesy of meeting leftovers.

I need to get back on track fast!

Some lessons learnt on making the Milo Apex Running School training work with my marathon training program:
1. Play it by ear (or legs) if Monday workouts are intense, skip Tuesday hill repeats.
2. Tuesdays can be easy run days.
3. Thursdays should follow Friday marathon training plan so that there will be enough rest for Saturday.
4. Try to finish the required distance and time on Saturdays.

About Kit Atienza

A researcher/runner/triathlete/cancer survivor who found himself in the world of development work. He enjoys, reflects, and rants about things while doing his job, improving his personal record in running distances, and training for the IronMan in 2016.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

