Goal?

This morning, we had our first long run for the Milo Apex Running School. The long run concluded our first week of training. The distance covered was 12K. I did 16K as that was what was in my training program. I ran from home which was around 8K so I did another 8K with the group.

I was having mixed feelings about joining this morning’s group run because:

  1. the distance I need to cover according to my program is going to be longer;
  2. if I join them after running half the distance, I will not be meeting my time goal which is 1 hour and 30 minutes; and
  3. I was feeling lazy and considering doing my run tomorrow.ย  ๐Ÿ˜€

But yeah I still did as I know the conversations and the laughter was going to be worth it. I was 10 minutes slower than my target time but it was still great.Image

So on my way to the meeting place, I was thinking – did they even ask what my goal was? Did the organizers of the running school think that everyone there just wanted to finish a marathon? Most of the people in the 42K group has completed a marathon or two and I know that they are there to improve their time. To be stronger runners!

Well, to be better than the last one is always a goal but yeah they never really asked. They just went on training us without even asking. A goal is a good motivation and letting people know what your goal is also helps them in supporting and motivating you.

So the researcher/M&E part of me is getting curious. I just want to ask this Question to those training for a marathon at about the same time as I am especially to my MILO APEX RUNNING SCHOOL friends:

WHAT IS YOUR GOAL?

Why are you doing this? How many pounds do you want to lose? How many new running friends do you want to meet? What is your target finish time for your next marathon? Please tell me and then lets all go back to this blog entry after 28 July 2013 to see if we were able to reach our goals. Now don’t just reading, I need comments here!

About Kit Atienza

A researcher/runner/triathlete/cancer survivor who found himself in the world of development work. He enjoys, reflects, and rants about things while doing his job, improving his personal record in running distances, and training for the IronMan in 2016.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Goal?

  1. T! says:

    well you beat me by this post. would be asking you guys precisely this question by monday… ๐Ÿ˜›

    • Kit Atienza says:

      Weh?! Can we document so that we have a benchmark to look back to?

      • T! says:

        yes of course sir. and you will be THE benchmark! ๐Ÿ˜€

      • Kit Atienza says:

        No Toel I can’t be the benchmark. As we have different fitness levels and different goals, we have to set our goals so we are our own benchmark. We just have to document so that we can compare the goals against what actually happens in July and analyse what happened in between so that we can improve. (Sorry I am starting to feel like writing about gap analysis. I miss doing evaluation papers :D) See you later!

Leave a Reply

