Week 3

Running Around
I am now on week 3 of my 15-week training program for the Milo Marathon in July. The 1st two weeks of training went well with a few modifications like doing the Friday and Sunday distance/time together but it only happened once. Week 3 is different as this week I started with the Milo APEX running school. Its a Monday, Wednesday, Saturday thing designed for the Milo marathon as well.

I had doubts of doing the program but since Mondays are usually rest day in my training and Wednesdays are 30-minute easy runs, I think I can fit the activities from the running school to my program. I decided I play it by ear and see how it goes.

Monday was easy 30-minute slow run so I did my usual hill repeats and some speed drills on Tuesday. Wednesday, we had workouts to improve balance followed by another 30-minute easy. The distance covered by the easy run was 2K short of my usual run but I guess with the workout, it was ok.

Thursday was a rest day so I just did a 20-minute cardio in the gym. Friday’s program says 6 miles in an hour. Since I was home early on Thursday evening, I slept really early thinking of doing my Friday run 1st thing in the morning. Of course I set my alarm at 4:00 AM before dozing off.

I was feeling a little lazy when I slept and was thinking of just sleeping longer and doing my run this coming weekend. So in the morning, there I was still in bed asking myself: “Do I really have to do this run? Can’t I do it on Saturday instead?” I made a decision to sleep a little longer so I didn’t move and just slept. Then came the alarm!

Yes it was me dreaming. The alarm made me realize that it was still very early and I definitely can still run! So off to bed I went and to the streets of Manila. I was already up and running before the sun was up. I was actually on my way home when the sun made his presence felt. I Ran 9.6 kilometers and walked another 2 kilometers back to my apartment to prepare for work.

TGIF!

About Kit Atienza

A researcher/runner/triathlete/cancer survivor who found himself in the world of development work. He enjoys, reflects, and rants about things while doing his job, improving his personal record in running distances, and training for the IronMan in 2016.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

