Week 2 Summary

Total Calorie Intake = 11,072 (1,582/day)

Total Recorded Calories Burnt = 3,329 (485/day)

The trouble with running a marathon while trying to lose weight is carboloading. It was a very awkward week for me as I know that I need to carboload but of course I only need to consume 1,400Kcal/day. I discussed it with my nutritionist and she said I can do it for a day. So I decided to carboload on a Thurday as there was a carboloading party scheduled that day and keep calorie intake to 1,400 on other days.

I kept that in mind but the thought of running a marathon just gives you that confidence that you will be able to burn them on marathon day anyway so I slipped. I stick to my diet for 4 days and slipped on Carboloading night (Thursday), and Friday, then on marathon day. I was expecting the Thursday slip. Friday was due to the excuse of running a marathon although it was just an extra 200 Kcal. Sunday was basically due to the energy gels and energy drinks I took during the race.

Looking at the averages, I am still very much on track but the evidence says otherwise. I still lost half a pound BUT, it is no where near my target 2 lbs a week! I really have to admit I slipped this week. I am trying my best to be better this week. The turnip, carrot and cucumber nibbles i’ve been nibbling seem to be effective. I am on rest and recovery mode this week so there will be less running for me. Will make-up for that next week.

About Kit Atienza

A researcher/runner/triathlete/cancer survivor who found himself in the world of development work. He enjoys, reflects, and rants about things while doing his job, improving his personal record in running distances, and training for the IronMan in 2016.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

