Staying On Track

Keep holding on

‘Cause you know we’ll make it through, we’ll make it through

Just stay strong

That Avril Lavigne song plays in my head when I see a doughnut or whenever there is an urge to eat something that will definitely make my calorie intake shoot up.

I will be seeing my nutritionist later. Its my second week and I think I somehow got sidetracked from my 1,400 limit because of my marathon last Sunday. I had a carboloading party Thursday and I think I had a little too much on Friday. Saturday, I think I did OK but I was not too happy to report that I ate 2 pieces fried Chicken at McDonald’s.

I could have chosen to eat grilled chicken in the fastfood next door but I chose McDonald’s! I ate that crispy chicken skin that got cooked by swimming in a pot full of oil while being covered with breading! Oh how bad could that be? My excuse? I was running a marathon at midnight. I don’t want to be hungry during a marathon. I needed to eat. but I could have eaten something better! I could have eaten the saqme amount of chicken with less fat right?

Well sometimes running marathons tend to become convenient excuses. Come to think of it, I burnt 2,417Kcal in that marathon. Yes I consumed 5 energy gels (around 150 Kcal each) and ate bananas and sipped sports drinks but I think I burned more calories than the ones I consumed.

Then comes post race breakfast! I was trying to control myself but I still think I overate. Yeah I feel bad making excuses but looking at the results makes me sad. I did not lose any weight this week. Based on yesterday’s measurement I am still 168lbs. So yeah I need to keep holding on because I know I will make it through!

About Kit Atienza

A researcher/runner/triathlete/cancer survivor who found himself in the world of development work. He enjoys, reflects, and rants about things while doing his job, improving his personal record in running distances, and training for the IronMan in 2016.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

