Condura Skyway Marathon 2013

2010 was the 1st time I heard about Condura Skyway Marathon. I saw someone in the gym wearing the finisher’s shirt while working out and I asked the person about the run. I was just doing 5K that time and I made a mental note to run in the Skyway in the future. That year, I did my first marathon.

2011, wearing Hangout Buddies (my team) singlet and a yellow armband, I did my first Condura Skyway Marathon. It was my second marathon. I got my marathon personal best of 3:54. It was a wonderful feeling as it was my first sub 4 finish and I was 11 minutes faster than my first marathon finish time. It also felt great wearing my team’s shirt and the arm band to show that I train with a group called Team MOA.

2010Condura2010result condura

2012, Condura Skyway Marathon became my 6th marathon. I was recovering from Radiation Therapy that time. I volunteered to pace a team mate, Nina who was doing her first marathon. With my bald brother Jonathan, we ran while motivating Nina to push harder. We managed to finish in 6 hours. It felt great to help a friend reach her goal.

2012 Condura

2013, I will be doing my 9th marathon in the Skyway. I have to admit that I have not sufficiently trained for this marathon but I will try my best to get a decent finish. Either I will take it slow or try to finish fast, I still don’t know yet. One thing is sure though – I will finish!

Image

Photo by Takbo.ph

About Kit Atienza

A researcher/runner/cancer survivor who found himself in the world of development work. He enjoys, reflects, and rants about things while doing his job, improving his personal record in running distances, and finishing his PhD.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

