35.88

This weekend was all about eating and running. Of course this blog says it is about eating and running. Of course I did some other things like shopping and staring at my laptop for an hour.

Lets start with running. This weekend, my garmin recorded 35.88 kilometers. 10.88 K last Saturday for the United Colors of 88 run where I finished after around 56 minutes. 25 K last Sunday for the New Balance Power Race where I crossed the finish line after 2 hours and 23 minutes. The 10.88 for me was an easy run. I didn’t want to push really hard because I have the 25K the next day in mind. So I did the usual walk-run-walk-run thing.

For the 25K the next day, I decided to stay at the back of the pack at the starting line. I was very sleepy. My plan was to have walk breaks in the water stations and having some gummy bears every other water station. I didn’t have energy gels so I got a lot of gummy bears from the party I attended Saturday. I got lazy after 20K and started walking more on the last 4 kilometers thinking that my previous 25K was around 2 hours and 30 minutes so it will still be a PR finish.

Now, lets talk food. Of course I had the 35K in mind so Friday I started eating rice. I had a cup of rice with two pieces pork barbecue from UP Diliman’s beach house for lunch. It was a good thing it took me 5 hours to enroll so I had lunch at beach house and a lazy walk around the academic oval while waiting for my adviser to come and sign my enrollment forms. I had longganisa and fried rice for dinner with Chop.

The next day (Saturday), I had pasta with Dane for lunch and a lot of sweets for a late afternoon snacks/dinner in my boss’ daughter’s birthday party. That was where I got my stash of gummy bears for the 25K race. I also got myself a cute little tattoo from the party. After the 25K race, I was caught eating Kripy Kreme doughnuts and coffee followed by some toast and corned beef at Jonathan’s place. When I woke up late afternoon, I was craving for Hainanese Chicken rice so I went to Toast Box for some late lunch/early dinner.

On other running related stuff… I was thinking of buying an Asic Gel Phoenix (because it matches my HOB shirt more than anything else) but there was no yellow version of it in the store. I read that buying a pair of Asics running shoes will get me a free registration to the Condura Skyway Marathon 2013! This made me go back to the Asics store and check what I might buy for my birthday. Well I had my eye on this pair which i will buy on Thursday!

While waiting for my adviser to sign my enrollment papers I went to the nearest mall to check on… some neck ties. Of course not! Some running stuff. I was looking for something on sale. I found some running tights from New Balance that were on sale but they didn’t have my size. So after finishing my enrollment, I went to Makati and check on another New Balance store where I bought the same tights for half the price!

Looking back, I have to admit I was lazy this weekend. I know I could have had better finish times in both races but yeah I have been lazy and just decided to walk. I like how I looked in the Saturday race but the shoes I was wearing were not good (Saucony Guide). They gave me blisters. The shoes I wore in the Sunday race were great (NB 1100). I wish they still have them in stores as I would love to have another pair.

About Kit Atienza

A researcher/runner/triathlete/cancer survivor who found himself in the world of development work. He enjoys, reflects, and rants about things while doing his job, improving his personal record in running distances, and training for the IronMan in 2016.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

