Crisis Situation

I have a situation in my apartment. Something that needs to be addressed else i’ll be living in a shoe cabinet. This situation affects the way I move around in the apartment, my decision making, and my finances. It will eventually slow down things a bit and make me lose time.

See it started when I got hooked in running. I just wanted a running shoe that fits me and are comfortable when I run so I started with this shoe. This shoe finished a lot of races including a couple of 21Ks.And then I saw a photo of this shoe and fell in love with it. I went to the store and went home with it! I used this in my first marathon and ran another 2 marathons with it.Then I was forced to buy this shoe because my meeting ended late and that I had no time to go home and get into my running gear before training with friends.

I wanted to try Newtons because I heard they’re good and this one is on sale hence I bought one. It was also a birthday gift for myself. It gave me my 1st podium finish (15K). Too bad I didn’t know it was a podium finish until I saw my name in the 3rd place spot in a magazine.I joined a trail run hence I needed a pair of trail running shoes so I got this one. This is my trail ultra marathon shoe. Finished 2 50Ks with this baby.Preparing for my 1st ultra marathon, I saw this shoe and I felt like it was made for me. I love the colors and I guess I deserved the reward since I was about to run my first ultra marathon. I bought this pair and promised myself to wear it only if I finish the 57K distance. I finished 3 marathons with this lovely pair.

Feeling bad for not qualifying for the Milo Marathon 2011 finals, I needed something to cheer me up. This sure cheered me up!

Saw this lovely pair in Singapore after the Singapore marathon last year. They looked great and light. I bought them for short distance runs but later found out that they are great for marathons as well.

For reasons I can’t explain, K-Swiss seem to always get my fancy. Saw a photo of this shoe and decided to buy them.

I got injured while training for the 2012 Milo Marathon eliminations. I felt really bad so I bought these pairs to cheer me up.

Then after having lunch with friends one Sunday, we decided to go with a friend who was shopping for a pair of shoes. We (all 4 of us) all went home with a pair each!

On my way back to Manila from a work-related trip, my driver asked if he could stop at this gas station to use the restroom. I wandered around and found an outlet store selling this lovely pair for half the price. Of course I bought them!

So yeah this is a crisis. I am running out of space for shoes. It is taking me sometime to choose which shoes to wear for training. I am also confused whether it is really running I love or running shoes or shopping for them! 😀

About Kit Atienza

A researcher/runner/triathlete/cancer survivor who found himself in the world of development work. He enjoys, reflects, and rants about things while doing his job, improving his personal record in running distances, and training for the IronMan in 2016.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Crisis Situation

  1. Pingback: Stand Up | kiteatkitrun

Leave a Reply

