32K

I stopped running for a while because I injured my ankle. I stopped registering for runs as well. As a result I gained weight and became one size bigger. Hence after around 2 months of being lazy, I started doing my usual 6K, 12K 15K+ routine. Well, I didn’t really get to do it but I tried to do it.

I had no plans of doing the 32K run but when an angel heard me saying I wanted to do it, the angel granted my wish! So I was a bit rattled seeing my 32K race kit and some runs that I registered in which includes a marathon with a 5-hour cut-off.

Time to get back in shape! So I was running Saturday and Sunday this past two weekends as the 32K race is nearing. It was a panic training but I was clear with my expectations. It was going to be a race to finish not to get a good time.

So I set my target at 3 hours 30 minutes as I finished 32K 3:28 last year which was more than a month after my surgery. The plan was to maintain a 5’30”-6’/km pace with walk breaks whenever there is a water station. I stuck to my plan. But glancing at my Garmin, I was somewhere between 5′-5’30” mostly.

I was feeling great with my pace so I just continued pushing. I made a mental note to try and do a sub 2 21K and then maybe relax all the way to the finish line. I was just below 2 hours when I reached the 21K mark. I pushed a little bit more then I started doing run-walk intervals.

I know I can still push until I finish but I stopped myself and just enjoyed the last 10K of the route. I was thinking of walking the last 5K but I just can’t do it so I still did my run-walk thing. I finished 15 minutes faster than my target. It feels great to know that yes I still can do a sub 3 32K. Will try and break my PR next year 🙂

About Kit Atienza

A researcher/runner/triathlete/cancer survivor who found himself in the world of development work. He enjoys, reflects, and rants about things while doing his job, improving his personal record in running distances, and training for the IronMan in 2016.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

