Still Swollen

My ankle is still swollen. I still can’t run else I will be injuring the already injured ankle. What do i do?

After a week of rest, I went back to the gym last night for a much needed workout. I can already feel the effect of being lazy for a week while eating and drinking a lot. I saw doc (who treated me when I went to the ER) and showed him my still swollen foot. He told me to bike instead.

I miss running! I miss being drenched with perspiration. I miss feeling the wind in my hair and the ground on my feet. I miss seeing familiar faces while running. I miss running!

So what do I do? I still attend the weekly adination MOA running group. I still comment on runner friend’s posts on facebook. But there is still something missing. I still can’t run!

So to make me feel better, I intentionally did not bring shoes to the gym yesterday. I bought a pair on my way to the gym! It felt good! It was like running as well. So, I will be buying a pair for every week that I don’t run. Of course I have to check the sale racks but yeah I am buying pair after pair of running shoes to make me feel better. 😀

About Kit Atienza

A researcher/runner/triathlete/cancer survivor who found himself in the world of development work. He enjoys, reflects, and rants about things while doing his job, improving his personal record in running distances, and training for the IronMan in 2016.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

