Doctors

Because of my accident, I was in bed practically the whole weekend.  Between Thursday and Sunday, there has been improvements on my foot’s condition. I stopped taking pain relievers and the swelling has gone down. The idea of seeing a doctor slowly went down the priority list Sunday evening.

Went to work with a limp but still managed to attend the kick-off program of Brigada Eskwela and painted a classroom with my swollen foot. I think it was because I was practically standing the whole day that the swelling looked worse on Monday night so I asked around for a good orthopedic doctor. See an orthopedic doctor suddenly became number 1 on my piority list.

Good thing my friend’s doctor holds clinic 5:00 to 7:00 Tuesdays and Thursdays and he holds clinic in the hospital accross the office. So I was outside his office queing Tuesday after office still with a swollen foot.

“I sprained my foot on Thursday and its still swollen until now” – my opening statement when I entered the docyor’s clinic. He looked at it and asked if it was painful when he pressed on some areas. There was really very little pain now, just the swelling so I told him that. “Well, you’re good. Swelling is normal. See me again if it is still swollen a week from now.” He told me to do calf stretches and elevate the swollen leg in the evening and explained to me why my foot was still swollen then let me go.

“Ah doc, can I workout even with my swollen foot?” I asked. “Of course that shouldn’t stop you. I guess you’re just too eager to run again are you? Give it a break and take it easy.”

He’s right I just want to run again or maybe make sure that I can run again. I followed his advise. I didn’t run this week. Neither did I workout. This is taking a break.

About Kit Atienza

A researcher/runner/triathlete/cancer survivor who found himself in the world of development work. He enjoys, reflects, and rants about things while doing his job, improving his personal record in running distances, and training for the IronMan in 2016.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

