Slimmer and Slimmer

“Will do a sub 50 10K tomorrow” reads my Facebook status last night. Now it says “So yeah it was a sub 50 and as Dad would always end his Daily Mile posts, counting my blessings!”

Being slimmer is one blessing for me. Slimmers World played a big role in my weight loss journey from 180 to 140 lbs. Slimmers was also the reason why I started joining fun runs as my trainer asked me to run 5K everyday when I was trying to lose weight and joined a body competition. That 5K treadmill run made me confident that I can also do it on the road hence I started joining road races and got hooked.

Slimmerun is a run I never miss. The first Slimmerun in 2010, I did a 5K as I was just a newbie that time. Back then, it was the joy of running with people you workout and train with that made it memorable.

The 2011 Slimmerun was a wet run. It was raining real hard when the race started. I finished 10K after 50 minutes of running. The highlight of that run was the box of meat products given to the finishers. I had two week’s supply of protein from that race.

I had the 2011 loot bag in mind when I signed up for this year’s race. This year’s run was more organized. It had a great route and I did a sub 50 as I predicted. I definitely will be running again next year. My time was 47 minutes and 24 seconds according to my Garmin. Not a PR but definitely a great run!

About Kit Atienza

A researcher/runner/triathlete/cancer survivor who found himself in the world of development work. He enjoys, reflects, and rants about things while doing his job, improving his personal record in running distances, and training for the IronMan in 2016.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

