April Training

It has been a month since I started my training program. I seem to have lost the drive. I always feel tired. I feel good after the runs but it is difficult for me to start my runs. The temptation to cut my run short is always nagging me. I don’t know what is happening but I need something to inspire me. I need that rush I used to feel when I started training for my 1st marathon.

Am I not that challenged? Am I pressuring myself too much? Are my long runs faster that it should be? I stepped back a bit last week since I started my training a week earlier than I should and really looked at what is wrong with my training. I guess there is pressure to be faster than the usual and this pressure is eating me?

To finish before the required 3:50 to qualify for the Milo finals. That is my ultimate goal of doing this. My best time in a marathon is 3:54 and I just need 5 minutes off my best time and i’m good. I managed to shave off 11 minutes from my previous time by not really following a training program. I just resolved to do better and had fun doing LSDs with friends and joining runs.

Is it that goal that is making me feel tired? I hope not. I have to admit that I am competitive and that I really want to qualify this year but it seem to be taking the fun off the training. Hmmm…

Time to regroup and start running with friends again because running is more fun when done with friends.

About Kit Atienza

A researcher/runner/triathlete/cancer survivor who found himself in the world of development work. He enjoys, reflects, and rants about things while doing his job, improving his personal record in running distances, and training for the IronMan in 2016.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

