Pink Promise

The photo above is the most popular photo on my wall as of today. A lot of people liked and commented on it. They liked the pink outfit I guess. It was taken by Ryan Moral and I was obviously unaware. Here is the story behind the pink outfit.

Two weeks ago, my friend/team mate Ceres finished her 1st marathon. Before the marathon, Dad (Jonathan) and I told her that we will be her cheerers in pink. We take promises seriously hence it became the start of our quest for the pink singlet. I saw one when I went to Singapore so I bought them and we had a test run with the Bull Runner Dreamers. Ceres took the photo below 😀

A lot of things happened before the marathon. Dad getting pacer duties and me not getting a pacer slot. It resulted to me left alone with my pink promise. Since I wasn’t running anymore, I decided not to wear running apparel to the race. I looked for my pink shirt and pink shorts and looked like a Rainbow Brite character so I posted this on Ceres’ wall to cheer her:

I had no intention of looking like that on the race day. But a promise is a promise so I packed them on race day anyway. With friends around, I felt comfortable looking like a cartoon character so  I changed to the shirt and the shorts and fulfilled my promise.

Here’s me and my marathoner friend after the race (Photo by Thea Nido):

About Kit Atienza

A researcher/runner/triathlete/cancer survivor who found himself in the world of development work. He enjoys, reflects, and rants about things while doing his job, improving his personal record in running distances, and training for the IronMan in 2016.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pink Promise

  1. Cybermumu says:

    Awwww…kahit na alam ko na lahat tungkol sa blog post mo, naiyak pa din ako. Sayang, wala akong picture na nacapture kung ganu ako nasurprise habang patakbo sa finishline nung nakita kitang suot yan all-pink outfit mo. From the bottom of my heart, thank you very much. I’m really happy seeing you and the rest of the HOBsters cheering for me when I finish my first marathon. I love you Kuya! :*

Leave a Reply

