Getting Ready

I’m getting ready, getting ready…

Yes, this is it! I am once again preparing for a marathon. The Milo Marathon. Day one of my 16-week training program started 05 March 2012. The marathon will happen sometime 2nd week of July. I am not yet sure of the final schedule but I started my training anyway.

The goal is to meet the 3:50 qualifying time. Yes, I want to qualify for the Milo finals and to do that, I am setting my goal to a 3:45 finish time. This was the same goal I had last year which I did not achieve so here I am again, training to meet that goal.

So what did I do to prepare? I went back to my 1st distance-based training program which gave me a 4:05 finish in the 2010 QCIM and a 3:54 finish in the Condura 2011 Skyway Marathon. I am also looking into other training programs to try and incorporate changes and looking into core training exercises to build a stronger core.

I also went back to my weight loss diary and reviewed the contents of my fridge. Goodbye rice, goodbye fried food, hello camote, hello boiled chicken! Yes I also resolved to go back to my 145-150lbs frame. Of course there will always be days when you let yourself indulge but it will be a “controlled” indulgence.

I am now on my 3rd week of training. During the 1st week, I ran 35K with an average pace of 6:30/K. Last week, I ran 31K with the same average pace. I was not that faithful to the program as I was very busy with work and school requirements but I try to do at least 3 runs a week. I am also keeping my workout schedule for at least 3 times a week in between runs.

I will start documenting my training here from now on so friends, help me in achieving this goal. This is it! To 3:45 finish!Failure is not the end!

Oh boy what a day its gonna be!

About Kit Atienza

A researcher/runner/triathlete/cancer survivor who found himself in the world of development work. He enjoys, reflects, and rants about things while doing his job, improving his personal record in running distances, and training for the IronMan in 2016.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Getting Ready

  1. tin2joy says:

    Hi Kit! I admire your determination. My hubby and I started running together a few weeks ago. Eventually, he wants to join a race, but on the condition that I will run with him. Haha! Na-pressure ko! 🙂 Good luck sa Milo marathon! 🙂

  2. Kit Atienza says:

    Nice! See you in one of your races then.

Leave a Reply

