Skyway Ready?

To prepare for the Condura Skyway matrathon I have:

  1. bought and tested the shortest running shorts in the market and am still undecided which one I would wear on Sunday.
  2. bought a new pair of shoes and decided that they were not for a 42K distance so I need to buy a new one (already had my eye on the K-Swiss Stability Max but they still don’t have it in stores so i’m using my old trusted, and colorful Asics Tri Noosa 6).
  3. bought a pair of compression sleeves and realized that they don’t match with the color of the shirt I am wearing for the race so I am buying another one.
  4. decided to wear that singlet I bought in Singapore last December
  5. started eating pickles since yesterday
  6. and will be carboloading with friends tonight
  7. might buy sports beans tomorrow (doing it for the 1st time).

Now let us talk about training:

  1. I went to the gym twice a week to do some core training since the 2nd week of January.
  2. I ran weekends (farthest was 46.2K in around 9 hours, shortest was 5K in a race where I finished 2nd with a 24-minute finish time)

So what does this say?

  1. I am not trained for the marathon.
  2. I am enjoying the eating part.
  3. I am aiming for a good picture more than a strong finish.

🙂 Enjoy the weekend!

About Kit Atienza

A researcher/runner/triathlete/cancer survivor who found himself in the world of development work. He enjoys, reflects, and rants about things while doing his job, improving his personal record in running distances, and training for the IronMan in 2016.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

