Takblue The St. Scho Family Run

After all that’s happened last year, and with the side effects of the radiation theraphy that I went through after my operation, I have slowed down a bit in terms of running. You can take that figuratively and literally. I am undertrained.

Last December, my boss asked me if I was interested in doing a run in early January. It was part of a fundraising activity of parents in St. Scholastica, Manila. So I thought, a small, unadvertised run… hmmm… an opportunity for a podium finish to start the year! So I gladly said yes. Talk about a morale booster for an undertrained runner who wants to get back to training but too lazy to do so.

The run, which was originally scheduled the weekend after new year was moved to the last week of January. It was not a good sign but hey, I am still looking forward to that podium finish. Call time was 5:00 and we were met by a mother telling someone “Nagpapanggap lang naman kaming nag-oorganize ng run kahit hindi namin talaga alam” – again, not a good sign.

There was a 10K, 5K, 3K, 1K, and 500 meters run. I was origially thinking of doing the 10K but when I learned that the race was going to be in a track oval, I decided to do 5K instead. Yeah we will be running in a track oval. 25 loops for a 10K, 12 and a half loops for the 5K, and 7 loops for the 3K. The thought of running in around an oval 12 times makes me bored but hey, PODIUM.

So with the podium finish in mind, I eagerly waited for the race to start assessing every possible competitor with the same bib color as mine. 10K started and the kids were just so adorable cheering “GO STRANGER!” as runners they don’t know pass by. Looking around, I was starting to feel confident that i will be getting the GOLD. Halfway though the 10K, the 5K started.

GOLD Medal in mind, I started with a sprint on the first loop. I though was ahead of everyone else in the first loop until another runner sprinted past me. With that, the gold medal finish slowly melted. I tried to look for that runner trying to run faster every time but I wasn’t able to do so. He passed me again on his final loop and finished around 20-30 seconds fater than me.

I finished second with a 24-minute time for a 5K. 24 minutes! I used to do better than that! My 5K best time was 21:17! So yeah I wasn’t good enough. I finished 2nd and as my friend said, the biggest loser is someone who gets the 2nd place.

It was still a podium finish but it was a weak podium finish for me. Yeah I need to get back to training.  🙂

About Kit Atienza

A researcher/runner/triathlete/cancer survivor who found himself in the world of development work. He enjoys, reflects, and rants about things while doing his job, improving his personal record in running distances, and training for the IronMan in 2016.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

