Fat Ass 2012

I usually start the year with the PSE Bull run. But since friends joined last year’s Fat Ass and the stories from that run were told until the year ended, I gladly skipped Bull Run and joined this year’s Fat Ass. The main reason is to join the fun of that event while doing some running on the side.

Since my goal for this year is to run in a marathon outside the country and qualify for the Milo Marathon finals, I volunteered to pace a friend in the Condura Sky Way marathon. Fat Ass was a trial run for us.

So there we were around lunch time meeting in Bonifacio High Street to start our journey to Clark for the Fat Ass. We dropped by for some supplies in the SM near Clark and there we were, pitching our tents and setting up for the run.

I registered to run for 12 hours so I brought some extra shirts, shorts and socks for the long run. Also brought my Asics Noosa Tri 6 and my Bikila Vibram Five Fingers.

Before e started running, there was an announcement that the first to complete the loop will be given a shirt. I wasn’t paying attention as I wanted to be with Shiela just to practice our Condura strategy. Some friends wanted to get the shirt ran fast as soon as the signal to start was given. I got envious so I asked Shiela if it was ok to leave her just for the 1st loop and when she said yes, I started picking up speed.

I got the shirt. I overtook friends who were way ahead of me in the race. I finished 21 loops (around 46.2Km) within the 12 hours, I had a lot of eating and chatting breaks and even managed to sleep for 3 hours.

Fat Ass was all about the joy of running. Chatting, eating, and drinking with friends while running on the side. Fat Ass = Fun Ass!

About Kit Atienza

A researcher/runner/triathlete/cancer survivor who found himself in the world of development work. He enjoys, reflects, and rants about things while doing his job, improving his personal record in running distances, and training for the IronMan in 2016.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

