Carboard Loading

Me, the person who runs because he wants to eat a lot lost his taste buds. Since last week, all the food that enter my mouth taste the same. This is a side effect of the IMRT treatment that I need to undergo because of Cancer. How do they taste? I have no idea but they taste like cardboard (not that I eat cardboard). You know the feeling when you drink very hot coffee and you burn your tongue in the process, for some time, your food tastes weird. That is how food tastes for me now.

Yes it has to happen now when its the season of parties, good food, and a marathon for me. Yeah I ran in the Standard Chartered Marathon Singapore last Sunday, 04 December. I tried eating a lot but food without the usual taste is just frustrating. You just go through the motions but the experience is so frustrating. You smell the aroma but food still taste like cardboard.

So since last week, eating was just going through the motion for me as I need to eat and I like to eat. I just try and imagine the real taste of the food as I chew them. I still taste hints of flavor in the food that I eat but they all taste bland. I just take comfort on sweet food as they still taste the same.

Singapore based friends who knew I went there this weekend wanted to eat with me. Well eating is synonymous to spending time together so my rule for them was not to go to pricey places as the food’s taste wouldn’t matter to me for now. So there I was prior to the marathon sitting down with friends munching on something, moving from one eating session to another. Chicken, pork, noodles, vegetables, all tasted the same. Dessert and/or coffee was a consolation for me.

I wrote this post to thank the people who fed me in Singapore. I really enjoyed your company guys and I appreciate your time and effort. I am ranting, yes but I still am thankful. I look forward to my last IMRT session and for food to have its flavor back. Hopefully in January, lechon would no longer taste like cardboard and I will once again have a proper carbo loading.

About Kit Atienza

A researcher/runner/triathlete/cancer survivor who found himself in the world of development work. He enjoys, reflects, and rants about things while doing his job, improving his personal record in running distances, and training for the IronMan in 2016.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Carboard Loading

  1. jonathan says:

    i know the feeling and still experiencing the same but i am sure we will be victorious one day!

  2. Kit Atienza says:

    I know we’ll be over this soon. Looking forward to tasting food again

  3. Pingback: 1 Year! | Under the Sun, the Moon, the Sky, and the Roof

Leave a Reply

