32K RU3

32K RU3? Definitely yes! That was me earlier this year when I was planing for races to run for the year. With the Singapore Standard Chartered marathon in mind, I was thinking 32K would be a good race/long run in preparation for that marathon in December. So when the registration opened in August, I was there on the first day to register.

32K RU3? Oh no! Me, in October when I was about to have an operation. I wanted to complete the Run Rio trilogy but I am not sure if I’ll be able to run. But with the operation in the horizon, I was not so sure anymore. “Doc, will I be able to run a marathon in December?” That was me before my operation asking my doctor. Doc gave me an ncouraging answer: “I’ll be very happy if you do finish that marathon.” That was encouraging but it still does not assure me that I will be able to run the 32K.

32K RU3? 32K… Me after my operation while waiting to get clearance from my doctor to start running again.

32K RU3? Hmmm… we’ll see but will try and finish. Me, after given clearance to “go back to regular activities.” So I started running again and slowly built mileage with 3 weeks to go before the 32K. I did a 3K and a 25K but i was too lazy to run the week before the 32K. I did not run but I carbo loaded Thursday (10 Nov) and Friday (11 Nov) as well.

I still have doubts in finishing the distance on race day but I told myself to just do an easy pace. The plan was to finish after running for 3 hours and 30 minutes. I was with Iris and Jonathan running at a steady pace during the first half of the race. Running at 6 minutes/kilometer was an easy one but it was starting to get boring. So halfway through the race I left the two and started with my 5:30 pace. I did not want to be sun burnt so I rushed. I was surprised to be overtaking runners at the last few kilometers of the race.

32K RU3? Of course! I did it after 3 hours and 27 minutes of running! I am just so happy to finish it!

About Kit Atienza

A researcher/runner/triathlete/cancer survivor who found himself in the world of development work. He enjoys, reflects, and rants about things while doing his job, improving his personal record in running distances, and training for the IronMan in 2016.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 32K RU3

Leave a Reply

