Autopilot

Last night, like most Thursday nights was speed training night at the Milo APEX Running School. We were warned last Tuesday that it was going to be tough. Well, of course, me and my confidence just brushed it off.

It was 5 loops in the 1.2K usual route with 2-minute rest periods between loops. My initial plan was a minimun speed of 4 minutes per kilometer in the first loop and just feel my way in the next loops. I was able to keep the 4 minute pace. I was even faster in some parts of the route in the first loop. 2nd loop was a bit more challenging but I was surprised to see that I did not go slower than 5 minutes per kilometer.

The 2-minute rest periods just slips away so fast. Before I knew it, the coach was signalling for me to start another (3rd) loop! I told myself that I can already slow down as I was in the lead pack. I felt pain in my stomach because of the speed (Note to self – breathing). My goal for the 3rd loop was not to drop to 5 minutes per kilometer. I was able to maintain it and was even faster!

The 4th and 5th loops were no where below 5 minutes per kilometer. It felt like my feet are on autopilot the whole time. I was thinking of slowing down but the brain signal just don’t seem to reach the leg muscles who keep on going at its fast rate. I was trying to relax on the last loop but I gradually increased my speed and actually ran faster as I was approaching the finish line.

It was a great workout. I hope my legs go on autopilot when I run my 2nd marathon this year. Milo finals, I know I already have one spot!

About Kit Atienza

A researcher/runner/triathlete/cancer survivor who found himself in the world of development work. He enjoys, reflects, and rants about things while doing his job, improving his personal record in running distances, and training for the IronMan in 2016.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

