Ooops!

I think I did it again!

I talked about shoes in my first blog entry. There were seven or eight pairs of running shoes in that post. Towards the end of my post, I promised myself that there will be a moratorium on buying shoes this year. I tried being true to my promise but ooops I think I broke it.

Lets go back the week of my 1st ultra trail run. So there I was, feeling unprepared for the run. I started carboloading, eating a lot of bananas, and eating pickles to prepare. I kept telling myself that I will be able to do it (hence the earlier post) and posted a lot of stuff in my facebook wall. I also bought sunblock, a long sleeved running shirt and this headwear thing to protect myself from the heat.

Shopping I guess is how I cope with the anxiety. I noticed that I have bought a lot of things that week. My last stop was energy gel and sports drink shopping. A Runner’s Circle has this buy 3 take 1 on the enegry gel thing every Friday so I went there for the gel.

I never thought that I’d go home with another gel. An Asics Gel Noosa Tri 6! It was love at first sight. When I saw it on the shelve, I immediately smiled and I know I just had to try it on. I was a bit dismayed that the one on the shelves was the last pair and that it was half a size bigger than my usual shoe size.

I just had to try it on so I did and it was a perfect fit! it turned out that there was a mistake in labelling somewhere. Looking at the shoe I am wearing, I knew that I have to go home with it. So I bought the shoe!

“Consider it a reward for finishing your 1st ultra distance.” That was how I made myself feel ok with the purchase. And so i went home happy with the shoe with no excuse not finishing the ultra trail run the next day.

I did finish the ultra 57K trail run in 8 hours, 34 minutes, 40 seconds. I deserved the beautiful shoes I bought. I wore it for the first time in a Pikermi last Sunday and it was great. No discomfort anywhere all throughout the race. Not to mention the attention it is getting from fellow runners.

I am so happy!

About Kit Atienza

A researcher/runner/triathlete/cancer survivor who found himself in the world of development work. He enjoys, reflects, and rants about things while doing his job, improving his personal record in running distances, and training for the IronMan in 2016.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

