Ultra Man

I have three blisters. One on my right foot, two in my left foot. These blisters remind me that I am able to conquer whatever I want to conquer. These blisters remind me not to give up. These blisters remind me to train more and that I can do better.

I finished 57 kilometers in 8 hours, 34 minutes, and 40 seconds. I was the 38th person to cross the finish line with my friend Jonathan. We actually finished together but my name appeared 1st in the list. Now I can proudly tell friends that hey, I ran the distance from the airport to our place.

Earlier I posted my apprehensions about the event. About how I was not able to run enough to prepare for the race. Yabang at kapal ng mukha was my only boost to finish the race. Then, I was already sure that I would finish before the cut-off. I know that I can finish strong. I did!

Some lessons learned during the race:

  • It is always good to run with a friend and stick with him til the finish line
  • Encouragement from fellow runners adds an additional boost
  • Long sleeved shirt or sleeves are essential
  • An extra pair of socks (need to find a really good and comfy pair) is needed
  • Extra shirt too
  • Don’t leave things in the car
  • Focus on the positive forget the negatives
  • Chatting with people makes the route shorter

Ultra Kit

 

About Kit Atienza

A researcher/runner/triathlete/cancer survivor who found himself in the world of development work. He enjoys, reflects, and rants about things while doing his job, improving his personal record in running distances, and training for the IronMan in 2016.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

