50, 57K Ready!?

Yesterday’s status message on facebook read “50K ready!” Then I learned from a friend’s post that the 50K route is actually 57K. “What’s an additional 7K?” Yeah what is an additional 7K anyway? Then my post today read 57K ready!

Yeah that is me, talking to myself. Trying to convince me that I am ready for this coming weekend’s trail run. 57K! The farthest I ran was a marathon so I guess I can do the additional 15K. It is not a speed thing anyway and since its an ultramarathon, then the goal is to finish right? To finish. Notice that period after finish?

YABANG AT KAPAL NG MUKHA seem to be my battle cry today. Yeah I admit I am MAYABANG. With kayabangan comes KAPAL ng MUKHA. They go together and they make me do things. I remember way back when I told my friends that I am losing weight and that i’d surprise them when I see them. It worked. It made me work hard to lose weight.

I have been training for that run yes but I don’t feel that confident. A lot of people are telling me that I can do it. I never doubted myself before. I know I can. But,it just feels so soon. I don’t feel very prepared for this but yeah I will do it.

57K Ready!

I will finish this 57K ultramarathon and I will finish this strong!

 

 
About Kit Atienza

A researcher/runner/triathlete/cancer survivor who found himself in the world of development work. He enjoys, reflects, and rants about things while doing his job, improving his personal record in running distances, and training for the IronMan in 2016.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 50, 57K Ready!?

  1. we will conquer this event! same here i feel the same pressure! goodluck to all of us! 🙂

  2. Lorie says:

    Goodluck sa inyo ^_^ Go Go Go!!!!

Leave a Reply

