Losers

Losing weight and trying to maintain it has been a constant goal for me since 2008. 2008 was the year I admitted to myself that I am fat and I need to do something about it. That was the start of my journey which cost me 40lbs of weight and 6 inches of waistline.

I have to admit that I still am trying my best to maintain my weight. There are times that I gain some but I usually get to lose them. That is also the reason why I got myself into running. To burn the extra calories I get from allowing myself to indulge in food every now and then.

Last night, while cooking pasta, I had a chance to watch the pilot episode of Biggest Loser Philippines. The show started with the stories of the contestants and the reasons why they wanted to lose weight. I just can’t help but notice that some contestants have this “dramatic” reasons for joining the competition. Loss of loved ones, failure of a marriage, suddenly becoming the family’s bread winner were among the many I recall. Listening to those stories made me think that they are joining the show for the wrong reason.

The reason to lose weight should be primarily for yourself. Because you want to feel good, you want to feel young and healthy more than anything else. If you are trying to lose weight for other reasons, then I guess it would be difficult. I hope the contestants are there for the right reasons and I sincerely hope they succeed.

About Kit Atienza

A researcher/runner/triathlete/cancer survivor who found himself in the world of development work. He enjoys, reflects, and rants about things while doing his job, improving his personal record in running distances, and training for the IronMan in 2016.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Losers

  1. bullet says:

    40 lbs? … ” give me a little inspiration!!!” : )

Leave a Reply

