20K A Day

20K a day is my minimum. That is what I tell myself every day since 19 May. Now what am I talking about? It is this Global Corporate Challenge (GCC) thing. 20K is the minimum number of steps I have to register in my pedometer every day before I go to sleep.  It may sound crazy but hey, i’ve been doing it for 8 days now!

The GCC is part of the “Work Well Live Well” program of AusAID. GCC is “the world’s largers and most exciting corporate health initiative” according to their website – http://www.gettheworldmoving.com/. An email was sent earlier asking AusAID staff to form teams to join in the challenge. While having coffee in one of the trainings I was attending, I luckily joined active individuals who decided to form one team. We decided to do it because most of us are runners and the others like taking long walks.

The challenge started 19 May. With the arrival of our starter kits (backpack, cap, 2 pedometers) everyone was excited to get going. Then came day 1. Everybody got excited to record their steps. My first entry was 20,874 steps. We started comparing the number of steps each team members recorded and that was when the competitive me stepped in.

Competetive me was even fuelled when while exploring the GCC website, I found out that we’re number 3 in rankings in the whole AusAID and number 1 in the Philippines. That was when the decision for a minimum 20K steps a day was made. I have to admit it is a lot and it sounds a little crazy but when I posted it on the GCC site, a good number of people left a comment saying that they feel the same. “I hear you. It is an affliction.” was one of the comments on that post.

So there it is. 20K a day. My record so far is 32,223 in one day. That was after doing a 12K LSD and walking around the mall on a Saturday. I am looking forward to the day I will be reaking that personal best. I think it can be this weekend or when I will be doing my first 50K trail run.

I have been sitting for quite a bit now. I need to walk around a bit in order to keep those steps count.

Sights along the way

About Kit Atienza

A researcher/runner/triathlete/cancer survivor who found himself in the world of development work. He enjoys, reflects, and rants about things while doing his job, improving his personal record in running distances, and training for the IronMan in 2016.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

