Yellows and Greens

This month is all about yellows and greens. Yellows and greens are the main colors of the singlets given for the more popular races this month. Yellow for the Goldilocks run and greens for the runs last Sunday (22 May), Greentenial half marathon (Dark Green) and Brooks Happy run (Neon green).

Lets talk about Yellow first.  I was expecting to break my 1:42 21K PR in this race. I was hoping to bring my time down to 1:38 or even lower. That didn’t happen. It was just so hot that it was very hard to run. Good thing this race had enough water stations along the way. It would have helped if the race started earlier I guess. Managed to finish the race at 1:49.

Greens. I was actually torn which green I will join. The La Salle one or the Brooks run. Since almost all people are joining the dark green, I decided to join the neon green. The deciding factor for me was the singlet. The brooks singlet was so nice that I registered right away.

Brooks was labeled “the Happy Run” so I went there expecting a happy experience. I didn’t get that. The race started late and the water stations were just not placed well. In short, the race was not well prepared. Early on, I decided that it will not be a PR race. Managed to finish the race in 1:16.

About Kit Atienza

A researcher/runner/triathlete/cancer survivor who found himself in the world of development work. He enjoys, reflects, and rants about things while doing his job, improving his personal record in running distances, and training for the IronMan in 2016.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

