Shoes

“Shoes? Kit has it from brands A to Z”

That was what a friend said some time back. I have to admit that I have quite a number of shoes these days. I collect Chuck Taylors and unconsciouly, since I started running, I have acquired a good number of running shoes. When a runner friend asked me how many pairs of running shoes I bought last year, I shyly answered 4.

When I started running, I was really not aware of the importance of running shoes. i just wore what I have. I used a pair of Reebok Hex Ride for my 1st 5k because it was the only pair I had. It was ok but I felt pain in my arch area. I wore it several times until someone gave me a pair of Nike running shoes. The nike shoes I had were not that comfortable either.

I decided to buy a good pair of running shoes and thanks to running magazines, I got introduced to foot analysis. I went to Runnr to have my foot analyzed and found out that I need medium stability shoes. The first pair I bought was a New Balance 740. It was good. I still use it when I go home in the province.

I got a brooks Adrenaline X when I did a sub 50 finish in my 2nd 10K race. I really like how comfortable it is. That time I was convinced that I have found the shoe for me. But then, I saw K-Swiss K-Ona S. It was love at first site that I bought it right away after finding out that it was a stability shoe.

From then on, K-Ona S became my race day shoes while Adrenaline X became a training shoe (alternating with the NB 740). November last year, after finishing a couple of half marathons, I posted a photo of a pair of Newtons on my facebook wall. It was a birthday wish since I got intrigued with Newtons.

Newtons went on sale the week of my birthday but the one I wanted (Newton Stability Racer) was out of stock. I tried on the Newton Sir Isaac S and went home with it. The Newtons became part of my training shoes as I wanted to increase speed. I tried using it for a long distance practice run and I had blisters. I tried it for a 15K run and was able to finish the distance in 1 hour 5 minutes (my fastest 15K) I manged a podium finish in that race. Still had blisters after the race.

K-Ona S was my companion during my 1st and 2nd marathons. My first two marathons were strong finishes for me so I had no complaints with my K-Onas. I just wish that my foot would still feel comfortable after running a marathon.

2011, I was thinking of buying a new pair. I wanted to try running with Asics but I realized that I already have a lot of shoes so I decided to do it at a later. I registered in a trail run and bought a New Balance trail running shoes.

I think I am a running addict. I wanted to run with friends before going on a short vacation but work made it impossible for me to go home and change. Running late for the running group, I entered a Mizuno store in my office clothes and went out in running clothes. That was how I got my Mizuno Wave Inspire 7. It felt great so I decided to wear it initially during trainings with a note of using it on a race.

I got my Asics running shoe April this year. It was a gift from a friend who likes my running posts. It was not a stability shoe but since it was given, I used it for some training runs. I used Wave Inspire for my race last Sunday and I am not so happy with the blisters I got.

So there goes my shoe story. I hope I don’t buy myself another pair for the next six months.

About Kit Atienza

A researcher/runner/triathlete/cancer survivor who found himself in the world of development work. He enjoys, reflects, and rants about things while doing his job, improving his personal record in running distances, and training for the IronMan in 2016.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

