01 July

In 26 days, I am running my 14th marathon. The 38th Milo Marathon Manila eliminations. This marathon is something I always train hard for. The motivation is always to qualify for the finals.

I did qualify last year after failing on my 1st try then getting myself endured the year after that 1st try. This year, I don’t know. I did try training hard but, yeah I have been lazy. Very lazy. The chances of qualifying this year is greater as the qualifying times have been lowered by 10 minutes that means I can qualify with a sub 4 time (which was my time the 1st time I tried).

I have recently been training real hard. I tried to focus on the goal of finishing sub 4 then came my back. Yes my back, the posterior side of my body is sending telling me to slow down.

There were subtle hints here and there every now and then so I tried losing weight and exercise some more. Then last Saturday, it gave a very strong message via lower back pain! Hence I stopped training this week. The only exercises I get to do were the low back pain exercises recommended by a friend.

Yes, my back is also telling me to lose weight. I needed that one as well. So here I am trying to stop myself from eating that cookie a few meters away. Thinking of ways to fast track losing weight without exercise if that is even possible. Well, lets see…

If I don’t qualify for Milo finals, there are still other eliminations I can join. Will try my best to qualify!

About Kit Atienza

A researcher/runner/triathlete/cancer survivor who found himself in the world of development work. He enjoys, reflects, and rants about things while doing his job, improving his personal record in running distances, and training for the IronMan in 2016.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 01 July

  1. Jason says:

    Best of luck to you! I hope your back feels better!

Leave a comment